The Change in Brotherhood

National FFA, CC, to remix.

Mylee Mayne, Reporter

Throughout the U.S. FFA (Future Farmers of America) has evolved over the course of 30 years. From 1993-2023 major advancements were made for FFA. 

1994: Chicago’s Corey Flournoy was the first African-American to be elected National President. 

1998: Jose Santiago was the first Puerto Rican to be elected as a National FFA Officer. 

2002: the time capsule from the 50th National Convention was opened.

2009: celebrates 40 years of women being in FFA. 

2013: Sherene Donalson was the first woman to be the national FFA executive secretary. 

2016: the official dress was changed meaning that women are allowed to wear pants. 

2017: Brenna Holbert was the first African-American woman to be elected National President.              From not allowing women in FFA to women and people of color being elected national officer positions, FFA has grown as we have grown. 

When Highland High School got into the game, Highland was killing it! When our current advisor, Mr. Willems joined, Highland already won 5 state championships in a multitude of FFA contests. Throughout our years of domination over other chapters, Highland has not once been in the gutter. Although Highland has won many gold medals at state, they have never won at the national level. Throughout our 30-year reign, we have had a national officer, an OH Sargent finalist, and an agriscience finalist. As Highland FFA has competed in more and more contests we have been the first state to host the state welding and tool identification contest,  won Lincoln Electric’s welding helmet design contest, and two days of filming for ESAB/TWEECO welder introduction. Over the last 30 years, Highland FFA has come and conquered. Well said by one of our advisors Mr.Willems,” Bottom line is to see kids come into the FFA not knowing about FFA/agriculture and leaving with such a great knowledge base and leadership skills to carry on the traditions of American Agriculture.”